Originality – Has Someone Done This Before?

photo

First off just let me acknowledge how I’ve been on complete hiatus from my lovely new blog for a while. Honestly though between work and my new obsession with Kanye West I’ve had some bloggers teething problems with finding time but to quote Mr West himself, ‘Bitch I’m back out my coma’. I know, and I totally do not apologise for how uncool I am.

Standing in the leaving cert bathroom in school many more years back than I care to mention, I vividly recall the horrifying moment (dramatic i know but hey, I was 17) when my best friend told me she thought I was copying her style, and so ensued a dramatic week long fight full of silent treatments and nasty looks from either side. This memory stays with me as the moment when I suddenly started to worry I was a personality fraud, a mixed up mess of other peoples ideas and feelings. Oh Jesus (Yeezus), I just want to stand out from the crowd a bit.

In this vast cyber land of blogging I feel the worry that what you write has to be different than everything people have read before and it must change peoples outlook on life as they know it must be a problem encountered by many blogger newbies like myself. Its definitely one of the reasons I haven’t been banging away on my noisy old laptop keyboard as much as I would like.

Then one day after complaining to my boyfriend about being in a complete mind freeze because I can’t come up with anything so completely new and utterly groundbreaking to write about, he said to me something that I have since pinned with the other life lessons on my fridge door, ‘everything is just a form of something which has gone before’.  So this calmed me right down, now I feel no matter what I write and where I got my ideas from doesn’t really matter because I will put my own unique spin on it and 30 years from now your kids will probably be reading a blog post by some paranoid 25 year old who thinks the whole world is scrutinizing her because she borrowed her writing ideas from the latest edition of glamour magazine!

This post has been 99% Adeline Minchin 1% Kanye West

P.S. Just to acknowledge how weird it is that schools have a separate bathroom for leaving certs, or was that only my school!?

I shall be seeing you soon for more nonsense!

Adeline x

One thought on “Originality – Has Someone Done This Before?

  1. Pingback: Creativity – Who Wants To Be Part Of The Crowd? | On My Way

Leave a comment